XOX

Resisting Happiness by Matthew Kelly ~ Christmas Haikus

~ Hello my pearls,

First of all, I would like to wish you all a Merry, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Years. It’s that time of the year where we are all happy, smiling and with our family. Here are 2 haikus I have prepared to describe this time of year:

~ Warming hot cocoa

~ By the fireplace while humming

~ Jingle bells gaily


~ The time of year

~When the streets are filled with cheer

~ It’s Christmas today~


Now, for the second part of today’s post:

New Years is here. Everyone is setting on making resolutions, and getting themselves healthy, more open, and organized. My New Years resolutions, that I have prepared, is to reconstruct myself, which means:

~ Watching what I eat (I have already started; I take notes in a fitness journal I have)

~ Make more time for blogging (I made myself my own blogging planner)

~ Make myself happier.

What is the definition of happy?

“feeling or showing pleasure or contentment.”

You cannot make yourself happy when you don’t know the real meaning. Well, it’s turn out that when I went to Christmas Mass, they were giving away a free book to all, titled “Resisting Happiness: A true story on why we sabotage ourselves, feel overwhelmed, set aside our dreams, and lack the courage to simply be ourselves.. and how to start choosing happiness again!” 

I must say that when I saw the book, I was quite.. bored? I didn’t know what to do with it, so I did the one thing you could do with a book: read it. However, I was not disappointed. I learned many things that I am eager to share with you.

One of the things keeping you from happiness is resistance: “the refusal to accept or comply with something; the attempt to prevent something by action or argument.” Resistance is a battle that start even before you open your eyes; take your alarm by example. You either choose to get up, or hit the snooze button. I personally always hit the snooze button, but I try not too. It’s something that we all try to get to stop. Unfortunately, most of us fail to fight it. And that is the purpose of this book. Resistance is also feeling like you’re your own worst enemy. Worry, comparing, bad relationships, self-doubt, debt, gossip, laziness and much more destroy your happiness. You want to be happy. In fact, I bet 99.9 % of the world want to be happy.

The only way you will ever be happy is being yourself, and by surrounding yourself with happiness.

 I hope you enjoy this [short?] post.

XOX

Amethyst Extrovert

BLOGLOVIN’ – PINTEREST – GOOGLE+ – POCKET

7 thoughts on “Resisting Happiness by Matthew Kelly ~ Christmas Haikus

Share Your Thoughts

